The Boy in Chanel

I have been fond of the Chanel Boy bag since it came out, and later on last year, after long considerations, I purchased the black and white version, just because the non-color is what I find most classy about Chanel. This bag is a wonderful accessory and very chameleonic in the sense that you can wear it with a cocktail dress or with a casual outfit, and it just goes perfectly either way. I wore mine in Paris last week, both as a casual chic piece going around the city and a perfect accessory in Disneyland for a fun casual day – so you get the picture.

20140313_224552

20140316_121317

Karl Lagerfeld suggests the flexibility of the style of the bag brings about a new interpretation of boyish charm: β€œChanel used men’s underwear to make dresses; she had this boyish attitude, in fact it is the very spirit of Chanel. She got it from Boy Capel, the great love of her life, which, incidentally, explains why the new bag is called the Boy Chanel.” I have to be honest though: I did not make the connection between the name of the bag and Chanel’s great love until one day when my boyfriend mentioned it in a moment of “I love your bag. By the way, did you know….?”. I felt slightly ignorant on the spot, but then again we are humans :).

And I guess, the name of the bag and its connection with Coco Chanel’s big love, makes it somewhat an idyllic piece, and so a must-have collectible. I always believed that a Chanel bag is a timeless investment. I purchased my first one, 2.55 black flap bag years ago, and it is still a small jewelry in my bag collection, styling beautifully every outfit. It just never runs out of style. And neither will this one I am sure. Because fashion pieces that we absolutely love, when they become old, we call them vintage :). So, with a Chanel, you are always playing on the safe field of never actually running out of style.

20140314_000221

Moreover, Chanel released the Pre-spring 2014 (Spring 2014 Act 1) in January 2014, and the SS’14 Act 2 collection too which comprises of the Boy bag in metallics. The new collections are wonderful and have some to-die-for pieces. However, my personal favorite is from Act 1, the pastel color (faded pink) one below. Simple, delicate, elegant – just perfect, simply Chanel!
Chanel-Faded-Ombre-Boy-Flap-Bag-Spring-2014-Act-1-e1390408727722

2 thoughts on “The Boy in Chanel

Leave a Reply

