Drinking Cofee 101 – the Healthy Way

Image

I recently managed to crack the secret of a both delicious and nutritional cup of coffee in the morning! And, no, it does not imply Starbuck’s, nor an Italian cappuccino (both yummy, I agree!). It’s more of an original healthier option that I truly recommend.

Given the fact that I am both a vegetarian, let’s say a body health & look conscious, but also a woman with a job that requires a daily cup of coffee at least, I had to look for ways to create out of the drinking coffee habit, a good thing for my body, not just a wake-up call for my brain.

What is important to clarify is that coffee per se is a healthy drink – the coffee bean is loaded with antioxidants and beneficial nutrients that can improve your health. The studies show that coffee drinkers have a much lower risk of several serious diseases (reduce risk of dementia and Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, type 2 diabetes, skin cancer and so on).

As a personal choice, I decided not to eliminate the coffee from my diet, but take advantage of it. What makes coffee unhealthy (besides the Frappuccino’s from Starbucks loaded with all the unnecessary artificial calories), is the fact that we add milk (cow milk) and sugar to it. But, these can be replaced with healthier options and the coffee can still taste delicious.

Image

So, in a nutshell, this is my personal coffee recipe and how I drink my coffee now: espresso + soya/rice/almond milk (instead of normal milk). 

The beauty of this is that you hardly need sugar. I don’t, personally, especially if I go for the rice or almond milk. But just in case you want to add a bit more sweetness you can go for some agave syrup or stevia.

Try it out, you may discover that you actually feel better too (as you eliminate the daily dose of unnecessary lactose and sugar from your system).

Leave a Reply

