Why I am a fool for Sunsets and Sunrises…

I have this weakness around a sunset or a sunrise on a beach, be it ocean, be it sea, be it lake actually. There is something about the power of the sun going up or down in the water that leaves me breathless every time.

I love looking at sunsets and sunrises –  it takes me away from the hustle and bustle of life.  Also reminds me how lucky I am to see such amazing beauty. The power of such views by the water helps me truly feel grateful for the blessings I have been given in my life.

Also, a sunset or a sunrise can turn me in such a romantic fool. As cheesy as it may sound, I melt in front of a sunset or sunrise with my loved one next to me, on a silent beach, and two glasses of wine or champagne. This is what I find truly divine!

When I was little, all I wanted to see was a sunset at the ocean, and then somehow life brought me to Biarritz – which is a town on the West Coast of France at the Atlantic Ocean, and I felt in love. I found this bench on a high rock there, and it was the first time as a child when I enjoyed the silence slightly broken by a seagull or the sound of the waves, and the beauty of that image. It was my favorite place for many years, and I insisted that my parents passed by Biarritz during our summer vacations in Europe so I could just sit on that bench at sunset again. I am not at all melancholic in front of a sunset, but it makes me feel alive. I feel this great vibe going through my body, and it charges me with a lot of positive energy.

Biarritz sunset – and my favorite rock on the leftImage

My second favorite place for a sunset is California – Newport Beach. My father took me to the Newport pier knowing I would love the sunset over there…and yes…it was amazing. The power of the water and the colors of the sky during the sunset help me meditate, help me think of things in a very calm manner. It is my spot to solve my thoughts and to recharge with strength no matter whether I am at a high or low point in my life at that moment. I guess for me a sunset is like a show: the breeze touching my skin, the sound of the water and waves that breaks the silence and the beauty of the scenery laying in front of my eyes in the most amazing colors.

The pier in Newport, at sunset – my other favorite spot
358_1scan20021214_191759

This year I discovered another amazing sunset in Boracay Island, the Philippines. It was somehow different from the other two, but I had to see it every evening from the White Beach. This sunset, compared to others made me feel in love: with life, with family, with friends, with people. It somehow fed love to me more than anything else, and this is why I remember it.

Sunset on White Beach, Boracay
20140123_174707

I found this quote that partly explains my attraction to sunsets: “When I admire the wonders of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in the worship of the creator.” ~Mohandas Gandhi. And so it is, because I cannot keep being amazed on the artwork that nature can create. I pause, and I forget all the other insignificant things that may have made me upset or created me discomfort – the fact that I can live to see such beauty means I am alive and lucky!

I believe that as human beings we all actually love the sunrise and the sunset. Each of these have their own significance to us. It starts a new day, marks a beginning. It keeps us warm. It boosts our moods and makes us feel happy. And ultimately it makes us want to get up in the morning and live another day. Sunsets and sunrises can be some of the most beautiful forms of art ever, painting the skies with their myriad of colors. I’m pretty sure that everyone keeps at least a few photos of the sunset/sunrise to remind them of romantic evenings, dreams or plans for the days to follow. After all, we are all emotional fools in front of nature’s beauty…

Leave a Reply

