My summer slim detox secret: Strawberries

1619361_10154041858675624_500004530_n
Last year I discovered the power of strawberries on a slim fit body. In summertime, I was mostly obsessed with watermelon which is again one of the best fruit to be eating on hot weather because of its hydrating capabilities. Then I read about strawberries, their anti-oxidant power that helps maintain a beautiful skin and a good metabolism, how they are packed with vitamins, fiber, and particularly how they are a sodium-free, fat-free, cholesterol-free, low-calorie food. They are among the top 20 fruits in antioxidant capacity and are a good source of manganese and potassium. Just one serving of about eight strawberries provides more vitamin C than an orange. Research also shows that individuals who eat strawberries on a regular basis have higher blood levels of folate, vitamin C and phytonutrients, and a higher intake of fiber than those who don’t eat strawberries – which helps you stay toned, and get those beautiful legs that women long for in summer :).

Having these great nutritional capabilities and then being soooo delicious (!!!), have motivated me to try on some ways to include strawberries in my daily diet.
10373848_10154192517665624_8442421883269662542_n

Therefore, I have tried two detox options with strawberries:

1. Have a three-day fast detox, eating only strawberries every day and drinking lots of water. I have occasionally added watermelon or raspberries. This is a fast way to purify your system, but you cannot do it more than three days. It becomes extreme as your body will start lacking other nutrients that you cannot get from strawberries.

2. The second option that is my favorite and works great during summertime, refers to having strawberries as a side dish to your breakfast, lunch and dinner. This second option is more long-term and easier to follow. Moreover, it maintains a healthy state of your organism throughout a longer period. So, every morning since the season started, I add strawberries to my breakfast (goat yogurt with muesli and at least 8 strawberries on top). At lunch time, as a desert I have strawberries or if I need to snack in-between meals I reach for strawberries. At dinner time, or watching a late movie, I again go for some strawberries.

You may ask: don’t I get bored of it? Honestly, not really, as you don’t actually over do it. It is about adding the strawberries as a side ingredient to your meals. Give it a try and I am sure you will notice some results in about a week.:) Let me know if it proves to be otherwise!

Leave a Reply

