Working Girl Basics: The Pencil Skirt Mix&Match

With all the sales around, I decided to go for a small shopping spree this weekend and ended up buying once again a pencil skirt…in white leather this time, because yes, I did not not have one in this style and color… I always say that of course. And this is what actually led to this post.

The bottom line is I realized the pencil skirt is my go-to item for the office. I just love it. I feel feminine, elegant and professional at the same time. I often wear monochromatic or tonal tops or classic button shirts with it (my favorite combination to be honest).

Looking back at the pencil skirt style I read that thanks to the genius of Christian Dior, working women in the 1950s turned towards precision tailoring and slim, mid-calf skirts that celebrated the feminine form. The pencil skirt worked its way up to the knee and became more figure hugging in the 1980s as part of the “power suit.” Fast forward to 2013-2014-2015, and while the colors and fabrics may change, the pencil skirt’s ability to flatter and mean business remains. And that’s what I love about it. It is a timeless piece indeed!

Pencil skirts can accentuate curves or create definition, depending on your body shape. Here are a few facts about pencil skirts:

1. Buy them in monochromatic colors – one color from head to toe – it creates a smooth line this way.
2. The more conical it is, the more curvy the silhouette will look – consider how much attention you want to call (or dial down) to your lower half.
3. With that said, you don’t have to be really skinny to wear a pencil skirt. Pair with a solid color top that hits the hip. Believe me, it works!
4. Pencil skirts look best with high heels. (!!!)
5. As it is a timeless piece you can mix and match, I suggest you invest in the highest quality you can afford. Pencil skirts can make you look pulled together, so make sure yours doesn’t fall apart.

You can find beautiful pencil skirts in Zara, BCBG, Herve Leger, Topshop, Asos, PNK Casual, Burberry and many others.

I ultimately believe that the pencil skirt style is symbolic of a woman who understands that femininity and professionalism are not mutually exclusive :).

Below, I pulled out some looks from a character from “Suits” (TV series) I particularly liked, Rachel Zane, that portrays very well the professional/stylish pencil skirt style. Enjoy :)!
201_suits_gallery_03_0_season42-e1402793390246
rachel-zane
845ae09eb19eb082b3ac6426b052db27

Leave a Reply

